HIT R&D Institute

Research on Antioxidation

Research on the anti-oxidant effect and antibacterial activity of blueberry anthocyanins:

The oxidation resistance of the blueberry anthocyanin is evaluated by testing the ability of blueberry anthocyanin in eliminating superoxide anion free radicals, hydroxyl radicals (·OH), DPPH free radicals (DPPH·). Its antibacterial activity is assessed according to its inhibiting effect on E.coli. The result shows that the higher the blueberry anthocyanin concentration is, the stronger ability the blueberry anthocyanin has in eliminating superoxide anion free radicals, OH free radicals and DPPH free radicals. Additionally, its oxidation resistance is stronger than ascorbic acid of the same concentration; the blueberry anthocyanin can inhibit the growth of E.coli in an effective way. Hence, the blueberry anthocyanin has very good anti-oxidant activity and certain antibacterial activity.

Anthocyanin, also called anthocyanidin, is a kind of natural water-soluble pigment. As a flavonoids compound, it exists in the form of glucoside and its structural unit is α-phenyl benzopyrane positive ion. Blueberry, also called huckleberry, belongs to perennially deciduous or evergreen shrub of vaccinium of Ericaceae. There are a wide variety of blueberries and they are rich in anthocyanin. In the test, we use the wild fresh blueberry which is rich in anthocyanin. At present, plenty of researches have been done on anthocyanin of the blueberry at home and broad and there are conventional extraction procedures. Based on the effective extraction of anthocyanin from blueberry, the research aims to explore its anti-oxidant and antibacterial effectiveness to accelerate the market development of blueberry anthocyanin.

1 Materials and Methods

1.1 Instruments and Equipment

Wild blueberries from the Lapland Region of Finland, UV spectrophotometer, electric-heated thermostatic water bath, electric heating air-blowing drier, drying cabinet clean bench

1.2 Blueberry Anthocyanin Agent

The blueberry anthocyanin agent is prepared by our laboratory. The production process is as follows: soak and extract smashed fresh blueberry in ethanol, get anthocyanin extraction solution after filtration and centrufugation; absorb by polyamide resin, elute the solution by 60% ethanol, get anthocyanin purified liquid after rotary evaporation, get blueberry anthocyanin lyophilized powder after vacuum drying at a low temperature. Prepare 100mg/ml blueberry anthocyanin agent with ultrapure water at last.

1.3 Experimental Method

1.3.1 Measurement of Anti-oxidant Activity of the Blueberry Anthocyanin

1.3.1.1 Measurement of the Free Radical Scavenging Capacity of Superoxide Anion

Put 4.5ml 50m MpH 8.2 Tris-HCl buffer solution in 25°C water for 20 minutes, add 1ml 100mg/ml blueberry anthocyanin agent sample and 0.5ml 25m M pyrogallic acid solution. Blend equally then put in 25°C water for 5 minutes, add 1ml 8M HCI, stop the reaction. Take Tris-HCl Buffer as a reference, double distilled water as the blank reference and ascorbic acid solution of the same concentration as the reference. Repeat each step for three times, test the absorbance (A) at 425 nm. Take the average value to get the scavenging rate.

1.3.1.2 Measurement of the Scavenging Capacity of the hydroxyl radicals (·OH)

Take 1ml 9m M FeSO4, 1ml 9m M salicylic acid ethanol solution, 1 ml blueberry anthocyanin sample, add 1ml 8.8m M H2O2. Put the solution in 37°C water for 30 minutes. Take distilled water as a reference, distilled H2Oas the blank reference, and ascorbic acid solution of the same concentration as the reference. Repeat each step for three times, test the absorbance (A) at 510 nm. Take the average value to get the scavenging rate.

1.3.1.3 Measurement of the Scavenging Capacity of the DPPH Free Radical (DPPH·)

Prepare 0.04mg/ml DPPH solution with anhydrous ethanol, store it away from direct sunlight. Mix 2ml DPPH solution and 2ml blueberry anthocyanin sample adequately, stand for 30 minutes. Take double distilled water as the blank reference and ascorbic acid solution of the same concentration as the reference. Repeat each step for three times, test the absorbance (A) at 515 nm. Take the average value to get the scavenging rate.

1.3.2 Measurement of Bacteriostatic Activity of Blueberry Anthocyanin

1.3.2.1 Sketch of E.coli Growth Curve

Prepare 1.25mg/ml blueberry anthocyanin bacteria solution with total plate count of 103 to 105 per ml. Take the solution for shaking culture at 37°C. Sample to test A532 per hour, draw the growth curve of E.coli.

1.3.2.2 Measurement of Blueberry Anthocyanin’s Sensitivity to E.coli

Add 0, 12.5, 25, 50μl blueberry anthocyanin samples to 1.5ml EP tubes respectively, add 5μl E.coli and LB medium to 1ml. Take the sample for shaking culture at 37°C for 1.5 hours. Add 100μl bacteria liquid to LB agar premixed powder, incubate at steady 37°C for 12 hours. Use multiple proportion dilution to test minimal inhibitory concentration (MIC) and minimum bactericidal concentration (MBC). Repeat each step for three times.

2 Results and Discussions

2.1 Anti-oxidant Activity of Blueberry Anthocyanin

There are many ways to measure the anti-oxidant activity of blueberry anthocyanin. In this research, we determine the anti-oxidant effectiveness of blueberry anthocyanin by measuring the scavenging activity of the superoxide anion free radical, hydroxyl radicals, DPPH free radical.

2.1.1 Scavenging Effect on the Superoxide Anion Free Radical


Figure 1 Comparison between Blueberry Anthocyanin and Ascorbic Acid upon Superoxide Anion Free Radical Scavenging Abilities

The blueberry anthocyanin has a strong ability to scavenge superoxide anion free radicals and the ability becomes stronger with the increase of concentration in the agent. When the concertation is 0.3mg/ml, the scavenging rate reaches 80%.

2.1.2 Scavenging Effect on the Hydroxyl Radicals


Figure 2 Comparison between Blueberry Anthocyanin and Ascorbic Acid upon OH Scavenging Abilities

The blueberry anthocyanin has a stronger ability over ascorbic acid in scavenging hydroxyl radicals.

2.1.3 Scavenging Effect on the DPPH Free Radical


Figure 3 Comparison of DPPH Scavenging Abilities between Blueberry Anthocyanin and Ascorbic Acid

The blueberry anthocyanin has an outstanding ability to scavenge DPPH free radicals and its scavenging rate is higher than that of ascorbic acid when the concentration is higher than 0.005mg/ml in the agent. When the drug concentration is lower than 0.005mg/ml, however, the ascorbic acid has a better performance.

2.2 Blueberry Anthocyanin’s Effect on the E.coli Growth Curve


Figure 4 Blueberry Anthocyanin’s Effect on the E.coli Growth Curve

The normal logarithmic phase of E.coli is 3 to 8 hours. In LB containing 1.25mg/ml blueberry anthocyanin, the E.coli growth curve shows a noticeable change: after the blueberry anthocyanin agent has worked for 4 hours, the bacteria decrease in quantity. After 6 hours, the bacteria begin to enter the decline phase rather than achieve the summit of growth as normal. The result indicates blueberry anthocyanin mainly inhibits the bacteria split of E.coli in the logarithmic phase.

2.3 Blueberry Anthocyanin’s Effect on Suppressing the Growth of E.coli


Figure 5 Blueberry Anthocyanin’s Effect on Suppressing the Growth of E.coli

The blueberry anthocyanin has a notable effect on inhibiting the growth of E.coli and such effect becomes stronger with the increase of blueberry anthocyanin concentration in the agent. When the blueberry anthocyanin sample has a concentration of 5mg/ml, no E.coli bacterial colony is determined and 100% E.coli. is inhibited from growing. By applying multiple proportion dilution, we get MIC and MBC of E.coli under the influence of blueberry anthocyanin, and they are 0.734 (mg/ml) and 1.36 (mg/ml) respectively.

3 Conclusions

The ability of blueberry anthocyanin to scavenge superoxide anion free radicals, hydroxyl radicals and DPPH free radicals is much greater than that of the ascorbic acid with the same concentration. Such ability becomes stronger with the increase of concentration and it has a good effect to inhibit the growth of E.coli. Accordingly, it can be developed and applied in food industry as a natural anti-oxidant.


HIT AGRITECH GROUP

Add:F22 Block A, Chengdu International Technology Energy Saving Block, No. 89 Cuihua Road, High-Tech Zone, Chengdu 610041, China.
Tel:86-28-61356063
Email:hag@hitagritechgroup.com

Copyright © 2008-2020 HIT AGRITECH GROUP蜀ICP备17043798号-1

哈工大抗氧化研究院

抗氧化研究

 蓝莓花青素的抗氧化作用和抑菌性研究:

 以测定蓝莓花青素对超氧阴离子自由基、羟基自由基 (·OH) 、DPPH自由基 (DPPH·) 的清除能力来评价蓝莓花青素的抗氧化能力, 通过对E.coli的抑制作用评价其抑菌性。结果显示, 蓝莓花青素对超氧阴离子自由基、羟基自由基及DPPH自由基清除率随着蓝莓花青素浓度的增大而提高, 并且其抗氧化能力高于等浓度的抗坏血酸;蓝莓花青素可有效抑制E.coli的生长。所以, 蓝莓花青素具有很高的抗氧化活性和一定的抑菌作用。


 花青素又称花色素, 是一类水溶性天然色素, 属黄酮类化合物, 多以糖苷形式存在, 结构单元为α-苯基苯并吡喃型阳离子。蓝莓又名越橘, 为杜鹃花科越橘属多年生落叶或常绿灌木, 品种丰富, 富含花青素。本试验采用花青素含量高的野生种蓝莓鲜果。目前, 国内外对蓝莓花青素已有多项研究, 常规提取工艺已经建立。本研究在蓝莓花青素高效提取的基础上, 深入探明其抗氧化能力和抗菌能力, 以加速蓝莓花青素的市场开发。

1 材料与方法

1.1 仪器设备

 野生种蓝莓果采自芬兰 -拉普兰德地区。紫外-可见分光光度计、电热恒温水浴锅、电热鼓风、干燥箱超净工作台。

1.2 蓝莓花青素制剂

 蓝莓花青素制剂由本实验室制备。主要工艺流程如下:取蓝莓鲜果破碎后用乙醇浸提, 过滤后离心得花青素提取液, 经聚酰胺树脂吸附, 用60%乙醇洗脱后旋蒸得到花青素纯化液, 再低温真空干燥得蓝莓花青素冻干粉。最后用超纯水配制成100mg/ml的蓝莓花青素制剂。

1.3 实验方法

1.3.1 蓝莓花青素抗氧化活性的测定

1.3.1. 1 超氧阴离子自由基清除能力的测定

 25℃水浴中放置4.5ml 50m M p H 8.2的Tris-HCl缓冲液20min, 加入1ml 100mg/ml的蓝莓花青素制剂样品和0.5ml 25m M邻苯三酚溶液, 混匀并在25℃水浴中静置5min后加入1ml8M HCl终止反应。以Tris-HCl Buffer作为参比, 空白对照组为双蒸水, 对照组为等浓度的抗坏血酸溶液。每个试验重复三次, 425nm处测定其吸光度A, 取平均值用以计算清除率。

1.3.1. 2 羟基自由基 (·OH) 清除能力的测定

 取1ml 9m M Fe SO4、1ml 9m M水杨酸的乙醇溶液、1ml蓝莓花青素样品, 加入1ml 8.8m M H2O2, 37℃水浴静置30min。以蒸馏水为参比, 空白对照组为双蒸水, 对照组为等浓度的抗坏血酸溶液。每个试验重复三次, 510nm处测定其吸光度A, 取平均值用以计算清除率。

1.3.1. 3 DPPH自由基 (DPPH·) 清除能力的测定

 用无水乙醇配制0.04mg/ml DPPH·溶液, 避光保存。2ml DPPH·溶液与2ml蓝莓花青素样品充分混合, 静置30min。空白对照组为双蒸水, 对照组为等浓度的抗坏血酸溶液。每个试验重复三次, 515nm处测定其吸光度A, 取平均值用以计算清除率。

1.3.2 蓝莓花青素抑菌活性的测定

1.3.2. 1 E.coli生长曲线的绘制

 配置1.25mg/ml蓝莓花青素菌液, 且含菌数为103-105个/ml, 37°C震荡培养, 每小时取样测A532, 绘制E.coli生长曲线。

1.3.2. 2 蓝莓花青素对E.coli敏感性的测试

 分别于1.5ml EP管中加入0、12.5、25、50μl蓝莓花青素样品, 加入5μl E.coli, LB培养基补至lml。37°C震荡培养1.5h, 取100μl菌液接种至LB固体培养基。37°C恒温培养12h。采用液体倍比稀释法测定MIC (最低抑菌浓度) 和MBC (最低杀菌浓度) 。每个处理重复3次。

2 结果与讨论

2.1 蓝莓花青素的抗氧化活性

 蓝莓花青素抗氧化活性的测定方法有多种,本次实验研究通过测定超氧阴离子自由基的清除能力、羟基自由基的清除能力、DPPH自由基的清除能力来确定蓝莓花青素的抗氧化能力。

2.1.1 对超氧阴离子自由基的清除作用

 

蓝莓花青素、抗坏血酸清除超氧阴离子自由基的能力比较 

 蓝莓花青素清除超氧阴离子自由基的能力显著, 且随着制剂浓度的增加, 其清除作用不断增强。当浓度达0.3mg/ml时, 其清除率达80%。

2.1.2 对羟基自由基的清除作用

蓝莓花青素和抗坏血酸对·OH的清除能力比较

 蓝莓花青素清除羟基自由基的清除率, 蓝莓花青素清除·OH的能力高于抗坏血酸。

2.1.3 DPPH自由基的清除作用

蓝莓花青素和抗坏血酸对DPPH·的清除能力比较

 蓝莓花青素对DPPH自由基清除作用显著, 且其清除率在制剂浓度高于0.005mg/ml时高于抗坏血酸。而在药物浓度低于0.005mg/ml时低于抗坏血酸。

2.2 蓝莓花青素对E.coli生长曲线的影响

蓝莓花青素对E.coli生长曲线的影响

 在3-8h为E.coli的正常对数生长期, 在含有1.25mg/ml蓝莓花青素的LB中, E.coli生长曲线变化明显:在蓝莓花青素制剂作用4h后, 菌体数目下降, 6h后很快进入衰亡期, 没有达到正常的生长高峰。这表明, 蓝莓花青素主要抑制了E.coli对数生长期的菌体分裂。

2.3 蓝莓花青素对E.coli生长的抑制作用

蓝莓花青素对E.coli生长的抑制作用

 蓝莓花青素对E.coli的生长有明显的抑制作用, 且随着蓝莓花青素浓度增加, 抑菌效果显著增加。当蓝莓花青素样品浓度达5mg/ml时, 未检测到E.coli菌落的出现, 对E.coli生长的抑制率为100%。液体倍比稀释法测得蓝莓花青素对E.coli的MIC及MBC为0.734 (mg/ml) 和1.36 (mg/ml) 。

3 结论

 蓝莓花青素清除超氧阴离子自由基、羟基自由基、DPPH自由基的能力显著高于等浓度的抗坏血酸, 其清除率随其浓度增加而提高, 且对E.coli生长具有较好的抑制作用, 可以作为天然抗氧化剂在食品工业中进行开发应用。



哈工大智慧农业集团

地址:四川省成都市武侯区萃华路89号成都国际科技节能大厦22楼
电话:028-61356063
邮箱:hag@hitagritechgroup.com

Copyright © 2008-2020 哈工大智慧农业集团 版权所有版权所有 哈工大智慧农业集团蜀ICP备17043798号-1